Back to top

Board of Water Commissioners

The mayor of Denver appoints Denver's five-member Board of Water Commissioners to staggered six-year terms. When a commissioner’s term expires, he or she continues to serve until the mayor reappoints or replaces him or her.

The Board's purpose is to ensure a continuous supply of water to the people of Denver and its suburban customers. Among other duties, commissioners are responsible for setting water rates and monitoring the cost and maintenance of the system. The Board holds its public meetings generally twice a month. Commissioners are paid $600 annually ($25 per meeting) for their service — the same amount of money they have been paid since the current Denver Charter was adopted in 1959.

Dominique Gómez, President

Dominique Gómez
  • Commissioner since July 2021. 
  • Term expires 2025.

Dominique Gómez is the deputy director of the Colorado Energy Office, a non-regulatory department within the office of Governor Jared Polis. The Colorado Energy Office works to reduce greenhouse gas emissions and consumer energy costs by advancing energy, energy efficiency and zero emissions vehicles to benefit all Coloradans. Prior to serving in this role, Gómez was the program director at the Salazar Center at Colorado State University where she focused on climate adaptation and resilience. Before that she was chief operating officer at WaterSmart Software, where she helped the company grow its operations and advocated for technology and innovation in the water sector.

Gómez served on the Denver Climate Action Task Force which made recommendations to strengthen Denver’s work to address climate change equitably and recommended funding through a sales tax which led to the voter approved Measure 2A, which will generate between $20 and $40 million a year to combat climate change and economic disparity. She also serves on the board of Cascadia Consulting, a sustainability consulting firm based in Seattle.

Gómez graduated with an MBA from the Stanford Graduate School of Business and a MPP from the Harvard Kennedy School of Government and has a BA from Yale University. She lives in Denver with her husband and daughter.

Stephanie Donner, First Vice President

Stephanie Donner
  • Commissioner since July 2021.
  • Term expires 2025. 

Stephanie Donner is a career attorney and community leader with a passion for the development of women and girls. She is currently serving as general counsel and head of government relations for Inspire Clean Energy, LLC, a leading company transforming the way consumers access clean energy.

Prior to her role at Inspire, Donner has served as Governor Hickenlooper's chief legal counsel and then went on to be chief legal and people officer for Galvanize, a technology education company with eight campuses across the United States. She founded the Galvanize Foundation, a 501(c)(3) that exists to increase access to tech careers for women and people of color and was recognized as 9NEWS Leader of the Year in 2017 for those efforts.

Donner also served as the executive director for Denver’s Emily Griffith Technical College — Colorado’s premier trade and technical college — where she was focused on modernizing the school’s technology and partnerships.

Donner is the co-author of When Women Vote — a book that highlights the challenges with voting in the United States and how election reform increases voter turnout and equality, particularly for women.

Donner has been recognized with the 2018 Richard Marden Davis Award for Outstanding Attorney, 2018 Colorado Women's Bar "Raising the Bar," one of Colorado's Top 25 Most Powerful Women, a Woman of Distinction by the Girl Scout's, 40 Under 40 and Top Woman Lawyer by Law Week.

Donner’s greatest accomplishments to date are her children Adi and Marcus, who provide endless laughs and have taught her patience and deep gratitude.

Tyrone Gant, Vice President

Tyrone Gant
  • Commissioner since August 2021.
  • Term expires 2027. 

Tyrone Gant is the Director of Treasury Management and Commercial Banking Fee Income Manager for Vectra Bank Colorado. He is a results oriented and Certified Treasury Professional with 30 years of experience in the banking industry. Prior to Vectra Bank, Tyrone led the Treasury Management teams at both CoBiz Financial (now BOK Financial) and Guaranty Bank and Trust (now Independent Financial). Tyrone is a Denver native who is committed to the community. He also serves on the Executive Committee for Cleo Parker Robinson Dance as the Board Treasurer and is an Advisory Board Member for AAA Colorado. 

Craig Jones, Vice President

Craig Jones
  • Commissioner since October 2017.
  • Term expires 2029.

Craig Jones is a managing director of The Colony Group’s Rocky Mountain Region and serves as co-president of Colony Sports and Entertainment, where he provides wealth management expertise to active and retired professional athletes.

He has a background in finance, tax and strategic planning from years of experience working at Mellon Bank, PepsiCo, Price Waterhouse and EW Scripps, and served as one of three co-founding partners of the Denver-based wealth management firm, Jones Barclay Boston, in 1994, which merged with The Colony Group in 2017. Jones is a Certified Private Wealth Advisor and earned a Juris Doctor and MBA from Case Western Reserve University. He earned his bachelor’s degree from Allegheny College, where he double-majored in economics and political science.

Jones is a member of the Investment Management Consultants Association, Colorado and Denver bar associations, and the Sigma Pi Phi Fraternity (The Boule). He has held past board positions with the Denver Metro Chamber Foundation, American Red Cross Mile High Chapter and Delta Eta Boule.

Gary Reiff, Vice President

Gary Reiff
  • Commissioner since September 2017.
  • Term expires 2029.

Gary Reiff is Senior Adviser of UCHealth, a nationally recognized, nonprofit network of 12 acute care hospitals (with the University of Colorado Hospital as its academic anchor), more than 150 clinics throughout Colorado, southern Wyoming and western Nebraska, and more than 26,000 employees. Reiff previously served as Chief Legal Officer of UCHealth. Reiff is also an adjunct professor at the Daniels College of Business at the University of Denver.

Prior to joining UCHealth, Reiff was managing director, chief administrative and legal officer of Black Creek Group, a Denver-based real estate private equity firm. Prior to joining Black Creek Group, Reiff was a shareholder at the law firm of Brownstein Hyatt Farber & Schreck, and was a member of the firm’s executive committee and co-chair of its corporate and securities department. He previously worked on Governor Roy Romer’s senior staff, and also has been an adjunct law professor at the University of Colorado Law School.

Reiff currently serves as a member of the board of trustees of Colorado Mesa University. He previously has served as chair of the Colorado Transportation Commission, chair of the board of trustees of the University of Northern Colorado, and chair of the board of trustees of the State Colleges of Colorado.

He graduated with honors from Stanford University with a B.A. in economics, and a M.A. from the Food Research Institute (economics of development), and he graduated magna cum laude from Harvard Law School.

Have a question about policy?

Complete and send a form to our Denver Board of Water Commissioners about specific, policy-related questions.

Fill Out Form